Amazon Renewed Compared: How Trustworthy Is Amazon's Refurbished Program?
Amazon Renewed is legit. That's the short answer, and it holds up. The long answer is more interesting, because with Amazon Renewed the question has less to do with the devices than with the fine print: a guarantee that lasts either 90 days or a full year depending on who you ask, and terms and conditions that Stiftung Warentest, Germany's best-known consumer testing body, explicitly criticised in 2023.
A quick word about us, so you know how to read this. Refurbito doesn't sell anything, and nobody here has had any of these devices in hand. We compare what Amazon Renewed, Refurbed, Back Market and Rebuy say about their own guarantees, condition grades and prices, and every claim below comes with its source and a date.
If all you wanted to know is whether you'll lose your money on Amazon Renewed: probably not. Whether it's the best choice? That depends on the device, the seller, and how much you care about a published minimum battery capacity.
What is Amazon Renewed, exactly?
Amazon Renewed is Amazon's program for refurbished electronics. The word "program" matters more than it sounds, because Amazon doesn't repair the devices itself. Amazon's own program description lays out four steps (as of 28 Sep 2026): qualified sellers inspect every item, all functions get tested, faulty parts are repaired or replaced, and there's a final quality check before the item goes on sale.
So Amazon sets the rules and backs the guarantee. Third-party sellers do the actual work.
That isn't a flaw in itself, and Back Market works on a broadly similar model. But it explains why two Renewed listings for the same iPhone can turn out differently in practice. Different sellers sit behind them, and each one writes its own condition description.
A small aside, because it trips people up when searching: on amazon.de these items often show up as "Generalüberholt" (German for refurbished) rather than under the word "Renewed". You can see it in the web address of the iPhone 13 listing we link further down. It's the same program.
Don't confuse it: Amazon Renewed isn't Amazon Warehouse
Our keyword data for Germany from 28 Sep 2026 shows "amazon warehouse" getting around 22,200 searches a month, versus roughly 1,600 for "amazon renewed". And people mix the two up all the time.
Amazon Warehouse sells returned and used items with its own condition labels. Unlike those, Amazon Renewed items go through the four-step inspection and repair process described above, according to Amazon's program description. A Warehouse deal can be a genuine bargain, sure. But the Renewed guarantee is tied to the Renewed program, not to Warehouse.
How long is the Amazon Renewed guarantee: 90 days or one year?
In Germany, one year. That's what Amazon itself says. Still, the 90-day figure keeps popping up, and there's a fairly understandable reason why.
Amazon's program page states that Amazon Renewed purchases come with a "one-year Amazon guarantee for repair, replacement or money back" (as of 28 Sep 2026), on top of your statutory consumer rights. GIGA.de, a German tech site, reached the same conclusion in April 2023 (as of 25 Apr 2023), describing a one-year guarantee on all Renewed products.
Then there's heise online. A heise explainer from 18 Sep 2023 says 90 days. Read both articles and you're left scratching your head. Fair enough.
The most likely explanation lies in the US. English-language sources on the US market describe two tiers there: "Standard Renewed" with 90 days and "Renewed Premium" with a one-year guarantee provided through the insurer Asurion. As far as we could find, that Premium tier only exists in North America. For Germany, Amazon simply states one year for Renewed purchases. So the 90 days are most likely a US figure that slipped into German coverage. None of the other articles we found actually resolve this contradiction, which is exactly why we didn't want to skip past it.
One bit of uncertainty remains, honestly. Amazon's German help page, "Über die Amazon Renewed-Garantie" (About the Amazon Renewed guarantee), couldn't be loaded directly during our research on 28 Sep 2026. We only know its wording from the search index, which also says one year. It's still worth checking the guarantee note on the specific listing before you buy. Takes hardly any time.
A guarantee isn't the same as statutory warranty
Sounds like legal hair-splitting. It can save you a lot of hassle in a dispute, though.
Under German law, the statutory warranty ("Gewährleistung") is mandatory: the retailer is liable for defects that were already there at the time of purchase. A guarantee ("Garantie") is a voluntary promise on top of that. The Amazon Renewed guarantee belongs in the second category, just like the guarantees from Refurbed, Back Market and Rebuy. Germany's consumer advice centre, the Verbraucherzentrale, explains the difference in detail. The part that matters for you is simple: the guarantee applies in addition. It doesn't replace your legal rights, even if some marketing copy makes it sound that way.
What does Stiftung Warentest say?
It's the only independent test on this topic we could find. Its details are more interesting than the headline grade.
For its test of online shops for refurbished smartphones (published 22 Feb 2023), Stiftung Warentest bought 45 refurbished phones between October 2022 and January 2023, five each from nine shops and platforms. Device quality counted for 65 percent of the grade, the buying experience and contract terms for 35 percent.
Amazon Renewed got an overall grade of 2.8 (on Stiftung Warentest's scale, lower is better). The devices themselves came out "good". What pulled the grade down, according to Stiftung Warentest, were flaws in the general terms and conditions. Back Market came out as overall winner with a quality score of 1.8, and Rebuy, with an overall grade of 2.2, was the best pure online retailer in the field.
So what does that mean? The hardware from Amazon Renewed was fine; the contractual side was weaker than the competition's in 2023. Two caveats belong here, though. The test is more than three and a half years old, and terms and conditions change faster than tests get repeated. And five devices per provider is a sample, not a verdict on every single listing.
By the way, across the whole test nine devices had defects Stiftung Warentest classed as unacceptable, such as a distorting speaker, faulty camera autofocus, or software from the previous owner that couldn't be deleted. That wasn't limited to one provider. If you're looking for other buyers' actual Amazon Renewed reviews, this test is the closest thing available: an independent sample instead of marketing copy.
How strictly is condition checked?
Strictly enough for everyday use, we'd say, just with coarser grading than the specialists.
GIGA.de states that a Renewed device has to be fully functional and show no visible cosmetic defects from a viewing distance of 30 centimetres (as of 25 Apr 2023). That 30 cm benchmark shows up with other providers too; it's something like an unofficial industry standard. Up close, in other words, you might still find light marks.
What's missing? A published minimum battery capacity in percent. The sources we could find for Amazon Renewed say "fully functional" but give no number. Refurbed is more specific here and states a minimum capacity for each condition grade (more on that in the table below).
And the grades themselves? Refurbed uses four, Rebuy three. Amazon's public program description doesn't lay out a scale like "Premium, Very good, Good"; it describes a minimum standard, and the details live in each seller's own description. We see that in our own data feed, too. There, the Renewed iPhone 15 only carries the label "refurbished", while the retailer asgoodasnew explicitly lists its iPhone 15 Pro as "sehr gut" (very good).
Bottom line for you: with Amazon Renewed, the individual seller's condition description deserves a closer read than it does elsewhere.
Amazon Renewed vs. Refurbed, Back Market and Rebuy
Now it gets concrete. The table shows what each provider says about itself, as of the date given. "Not stated" means the linked source says nothing on the point, and we don't guess.
| Criterion | Amazon Renewed | Refurbed | Back Market | Rebuy |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Guarantee (per provider) | 1-year Amazon guarantee (repair, replacement or money back) | 12 months | 12 months from delivery, given by the individual seller | 3 years of "protection" on used electronics |
| Condition grades | one minimum standard: fully functional, no visible defects at 30 cm | 4 grades: Premium, Exzellent, Sehr gut, Gut | not stated in the warranty source | 3 grades: Wie neu, Sehr gut, Gut |
| Minimum battery capacity | no published percentage found | at least 90% (Premium); at least 85% for smartphones or 80% for other devices (other grades) | not stated | not stated |
| Returns / withdrawal | not stated in our sources | 30-day free returns | not stated | 21-day right of withdrawal |
| Service commitments on a claim | not stated | not stated | reply within 1 business day, return label within 1 business day, repair or replacement within 5 business days | free return for technical defects within 36 months |
| Stiftung Warentest (22 Feb 2023) | overall 2.8 (devices "good", terms criticised) | not stated in our sources | overall winner, quality score 1.8 | overall 2.2, best pure online retailer |
| Source, date | aboutamazon.de, accessed 28 Sep 2026 | refurbed.de, accessed 28 Sep 2026 | backmarket.de, accessed 28 Sep 2026 | rebuy.de, accessed 28 Sep 2026 |
On paper, Rebuy offers the longest cover. Rebuy advertises (as of 28 Sep 2026) three years of protection on used electronics, well beyond the 12 months the other three offer. Amazon Renewed's one year puts it level with Refurbed and Back Market. On guarantee length alone, then, Amazon isn't the laggard the 90-day rumours suggest.
The real difference lies elsewhere. Refurbed discloses how much battery capacity has to be left, at minimum. Back Market, according to its own warranty certificate, binds its sellers to fixed deadlines. Amazon Renewed says little about either in public. If you like hard numbers, the specialists are more transparent.
On trust in the shop itself, Back Market has one more data point: Back Market Germany holds 4.78 out of 5 stars across 79,233 Trusted Shops reviews (as of 13 Aug 2026).
How much do you really save with Amazon Renewed?
On its program page, Amazon advertises savings of "up to 50%" compared with new. That's Amazon's marketing claim, not ours. And "up to" also means: often less.
In April 2023, GIGA.de found an example that shows both sides. A Renewed iPhone 12 Pro with 128 GB cost €589.10 at the time, against a list price of €1,149, so roughly 49% off. For Amazon's own devices and accessories, though, GIGA found savings often came to only about 10%. Those are 2023 prices, not current ones. We still find the pattern telling: Renewed pays off far more on expensive Apple hardware than on Amazon's own products.
Price example: iPhone 13 with 128 GB
A snapshot from 28 Sep 2026. An iPhone 13 with 128 GB in (PRODUCT)RED was listed on Amazon Renewed from around €255, with the blue version at about €264.12. refurbed.de had the same model in "Gut" (good) condition for €259.99.
A few euros apart. That's it.
With one caveat we don't want to hide: we read the Refurbed price directly off the product page, but the Amazon price only via the search index, because amazon.de wasn't reachable when we tried to load it. Treat the €255 as a ballpark figure. And red versus blue alone made a difference of about nine euros on Amazon. Refurbished prices depend on colour, storage, condition and stock, and they move constantly.
The takeaway is boring but true. Neither platform is cheaper across the board; the individual listing on the day you buy decides.
iPhone 14, 15 and 15 Pro in our data feed
Refurbito's own price comparison also runs Amazon Renewed listings alongside offers from specialist retailers, as of 28 Sep 2026. The Apple iPhone 14, 128GB, Midnight (Refurbished) cost €364 on Amazon Renewed, rated 4.0 out of 5 stars from 3,678 ratings. The newer Apple iPhone 15 128GB Black (Refurbished) was listed at €435, also at 4.0 stars, this time from 3,156 ratings.
On the same day, the retailer asgoodasnew had the Apple iPhone 15 Pro 128GB Titan blau in "sehr gut" (very good) condition for €579.
Careful when comparing, though: these are three different models. The €144 gap between the Renewed iPhone 15 and the iPhone 15 Pro at asgoodasnew is a model premium, not a retailer premium. What you can see, though, is that asgoodasnew states the condition grade in the listing, while the Amazon listings just say "refurbished".
Apple iPhone 14, 128GB, Midnight (Refurbished)
View at AmazonAffiliate link. Buying through it earns us a commission; the price stays the same for you.
Apple iPhone 15 128GB Black (Refurbished)
View at AmazonAffiliate link. Buying through it earns us a commission; the price stays the same for you.
Apple iPhone 15 Pro 128GB Titan blau
View at asgoodasnewAffiliate link. Buying through it earns us a commission; the price stays the same for you.
MacBook Pro: M1 vs. M1 Pro
Same picture with laptops, just with more money at stake. The 2020 Apple MacBook Pro with Apple M1 Chip (13 Inches, 8 GB RAM, 256 GB SSD) Space Grey (Refurbished) was listed at €709 on Amazon Renewed on 28 Sep 2026, with 4.0 stars from only 146 ratings. asgoodasnew had the Apple MacBook Pro 2021 14" M1 Pro 8-Core CPU | 14-Core GPU 1 TB SSD 16 GB space grau in "sehr gut" condition for €982.
A €273 difference sounds like a lot. Going by the product names, though, the 14-inch model gets you 16 instead of 8 GB of RAM, a 1 TB instead of a 256 GB SSD, the M1 Pro chip, and a machine that's a year newer. That's not a fair head-to-head; it's more of a price ladder.
2020 Apple MacBook Pro with Apple M1 Chip (13 Inches, 8 GB RAM, 256 GB SSD) Space Grey (Refurbished)
View at AmazonAffiliate link. Buying through it earns us a commission; the price stays the same for you.
Apple MacBook Pro 2021 14" M1 Pro 8-Core CPU | 14-Core GPU 1 TB SSD 16 GB space grau
View at asgoodasnewAffiliate link. Buying through it earns us a commission; the price stays the same for you.
Who is Amazon Renewed a good fit for?
Amazon Renewed works for more people than its reputation suggests, just not everyone equally.
Amazon Renewed for iPhones
iPhones are where Amazon Renewed plays to its strengths. GIGA's biggest savings in 2023 were on Apple hardware, and in the iPhone 13 example from 28 Sep 2026, Amazon was level with Refurbed on price. At one year, the guarantee matches Refurbed and Back Market.
Where we'd hesitate: the battery. Amazon doesn't publish a minimum capacity; Refurbed does (at least 85% for smartphones in the grades below Premium). If battery life matters to you, and on a phone it usually does, that published number is a real argument for the specialist. If the longest cover matters most, you'll probably end up at Rebuy with its three years.
Amazon Renewed for MacBooks
Laptops cost more, so every month of guarantee carries more weight. Amazon's one year is solid, but it's not an edge. There's another point, too: Stiftung Warentest's test only covered smartphones. We haven't found a comparable independent rating for refurbished laptops, not for Amazon and not for the others.
One more thing we noticed while going through the listings. None of the MacBook titles in our data feed mentions the keyboard layout. Whether you get a German QWERTZ keyboard or something else only becomes clear from the description or by asking the seller. A detail, sure. But one that can be pretty annoying once the box is open.
What to look for in an Amazon Renewed listing
Before you buy, a few points in the listing are worth more than any average star rating. The seller's name, because they, not Amazon, refurbished the device. The guarantee note, if only because of the 90-day confusion. The condition description, meaning the detailed one, not just "Generalüberholt" in the title. For phones, a battery figure, if the seller gives one at all. And for laptops, the keyboard layout.
If too much of that is missing, it doesn't prove the offer is bad. But it's a reason to cross-check the same model at Refurbed, Back Market or Rebuy.
The verdict: trustworthy, but not automatically first choice
Amazon Renewed isn't a risky buy. In Germany the guarantee runs one year, not 90 days, and for the iPhone 13 the price on 28 Sep 2026 was level with Refurbed.
What bothers us is the transparency. No battery figure, no public grading scale, and terms and conditions that didn't fare well with Stiftung Warentest. None of that makes Amazon Renewed dodgy. It just makes every individual listing matter more.
Already got a Renewed device in your basket? Then it's worth a quick look at Refurbito's price comparison first, to see what the same model costs at specialist retailers and in what condition. Sometimes Amazon wins. Sometimes it doesn't.
All products from this post
The ones we named above are marked; the rest are alternatives in the same category.
Affiliate notice: As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. Product prices and availability are subject to change.
Frequently Asked Questions
Who actually checks the devices?
Not Amazon itself, but qualified third-party sellers. They inspect, test and repair the devices to a standard Amazon sets (per Amazon's program description, as of 28 Sep 2026). The one-year guarantee, on the other hand, comes from Amazon itself.
Are Amazon Renewed iPhones really like new?
Not necessarily, since GIGA.de's reporting (as of 25 Apr 2023) shows Amazon's standard requires only full functionality and no visible defects from a distance of 30 centimetres. Light marks up close are therefore possible. In the sources we found, Amazon doesn't state a minimum battery capacity in percent.
What do Amazon Renewed reviews from other buyers look like?
The Amazon Renewed reviews we could check come from star ratings in our own data feed: the iPhone 14 sits at 4.0 out of 5 stars from 3,678 ratings, the iPhone 15 at the same 4.0 from 3,156 ratings (as of 28 Sep 2026). Add Stiftung Warentest's 2023 grade of 2.8 to that. Refurbito has no first-hand buying experience of its own, so we're reading other sources here, not reporting our own.
Can you return the products?
Shorter than you might hope. If there's a defect, Amazon says its one-year guarantee covers repair, replacement or a refund (as of 28 Sep 2026), and the statutory 14-day right of withdrawal for online purchases in the EU applies anyway. We couldn't reliably confirm a longer voluntary return window for Renewed purchases in our sources. If there is one, it'll be in the listing.
Amazon Renewed vs. refurbished: what's the difference?
In principle, none: Renewed is simply Amazon's name for refurbished goods. The difference lies with the provider. Amazon Renewed is a marketplace of third-party sellers backed by an Amazon guarantee. Specialists like Refurbed or Rebuy publish finer condition grades, and Refurbed also publishes a minimum battery capacity.
Which is better: Amazon Renewed, Refurbed, Back Market or Rebuy?
We don't crown a winner of our own. In February 2023, Stiftung Warentest put Back Market on top, rated Rebuy the best pure online retailer, and placed Amazon Renewed behind them with an overall grade of 2.8. Rebuy advertises the longest guarantee at three years (as of 28 Sep 2026). On price, the individual listing on the day you buy decides.
Sources
- Amazon's own program description aboutamazon.de
- GIGA.de giga.de
- heise online heise.de
- "Über die Amazon Renewed-Garantie" amazon.de
- consumer advice centre, the Verbraucherzentrale verbraucherzentrale.de
- test of online shops for refurbished smartphones test.de
- Refurbed refurbed.de
- backmarket.de backmarket.de
- rebuy.de rebuy.de
- Rebuy rebuy.de
- Amazon Renewed amazon.de
- refurbed.de refurbed.de